Home > Departments > Community Services

Mental Health Department-Community Services
for Warren and Washington Counties

Office of Community Services for Warren and Washington Counties
230 Maple St. Suite 1, Glens Falls, NY 12801
Phone: (518) 792-7143
Fax (518) 792-7166

About Mental Health Department / Community Services

The Office of Community Services for Warren and Washington Counties serves as the Mental Health Department for both Warren and Washington Counties. New York State Mental Hygiene Law directs local governments to either "provide or arrange for preventive, rehabilitative, and treatment services for the mentally ill, the mentally retarded and developmentally disabled, and those suffering from the disease of alcoholism and substance abuse."

The Office of Community Services accomplishes this mandate through contractual agreements with not-for-profit agencies within our community. The Office of Community Services is governed by a nine-member Community Services Board in each county, and the County Board of Supervisors. We also oversee a local planning process for the three disability areas through a subcommittee structure of the Community Services Boards. Please follow the links on the bottom of this page for more information regarding our contract agencies and the specific services that they provide for our community.

The Office of Community Services is responsible for administering the local Single Point of Access (SPOA) for all referrals for mental health residential and case management services. We also coordinate the Assisted Outpatient Treatment (AOT) Program for Warren and Washington Counties. This program provides for an enhanced array of outpatient services, either through voluntary agreement or court order, for eligible individuals over 18 years of age with a history of non-compliance with recommended treatment. Please follow the links on this page, or contact the Office of Community Services at (518) 792-7143 for more information regarding these initiatives.

Please contact our office* if you have any questions regarding our services, or need information regarding initiating a referral.

Meeting Minutes:




January 09, 2014  Adobe Reader Required June 19, 2014  Adobe Reader Required October 09, 2014  Adobe Reader Required
March 13, 2014  Adobe Reader Required July 17, 2014  Adobe Reader Required  
April 10, 2014  Adobe Reader Required August 06, 2014  Adobe Reader Required  
May 08, 2014  Adobe Reader Required September 11, 2014  Adobe Reader Required  
Office of Community Service Staff:
  • Robert York, LCSW, MPA, Director of Community Services
  • Megan Johnson, LCSW, Deputy Director-Clinical
  • Harry Carlson, MPA, Deputy Director-Fiscal
  • Lisa Coutu, LCSW, Program Analyst
  • Cindy Wasson, Office Specialist
*Links to external sites are provided as a convenience. 
Washington County has no control over the format or content of any information found on any external site.
About Community Services Directory of Services
Mission and Vision Single Point of Access (SPOA)
Local Government Plan Applications
Calendar Assisted Outpatient Treatment (AOT)
Disaster Mental Health Warren County Community Services Board
Washington County Community Services Board Additional Links
Contract Agencies and Services  
Back to Top |  Return to Community Services Home |  Return to Washington County Home Page